OpenStack Technical Committee

The OpenStack Technical Committee is one of the governing bodies of the OpenStack project. It is an elected group that represents the contributors to the open source project, and has oversight on all technical matters.

The Technical Committee is formally defined in the OpenStack Foundation bylaws (in particular article 4.1(b), article 4.13 and Appendix 4) and further refined in the OpenStack Technical Committee Charter.

Work under the Technical Committee is organized under official OpenStack Project Teams (responsible for the production of the software up to release), Popup teams (formed around a limited cross-project objective) and Working groups (delegations from the TC to fill specific functions like election organization).

These pages contain OpenStack Technical Committee reference documents and track official resolutions voted by the committee.

Current Members

Full Name

IRC

E-mail

Term Expires

Role

Alexandra Settle

asettle

asettle@suse.com

March 2020

Ghanshyam Mann

gmann

gmann@ghanshyammann.com

September 2020

Graham Hayes

mugsie

gr@ham.ie

March 2020

Jay Bryant

jungleboyj

jsbryant@electronicjungle.net

September 2020

Jean-Philippe Evrard

evrardjp

jean-philippe@evrard.me

September 2020

chair

Jim Rollenhagen

jroll

jim@jimrollenhagen.com

March 2020

Kevin Carter

cloudnull

kecarter@redhat.com

September 2020

Kendall Nelson

diablo_rojo

knelson@openstack.org

September 2020

Mohammed Naser

mnaser

mnaser@vexxhost.com

March 2020

Nate Johnston

njohnston

nate.johnston@redhat.com

September 2020

Rico Lin

ricolin

rico.lin.guanyu@gmail.com

March 2020

vice-chair

Thierry Carrez

ttx

thierry@openstack.org

March 2020

Zane Bitter

zaneb

zbitter@redhat.com

March 2020

Reference documents and Resolutions

Office hours

Beyond discussing on the mailing-list and participating in ad-hoc IRC meetings, TC members will hold office hours (for one hour) on the #openstack-tc IRC channel at the following times every week:

You can contact TC members at any time, but there will be an effort to be present at those specific hours. So don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any question!

How to propose governance changes

Motions should be posted for discussion as a proposed change to the openstack/governance repository (on review.opendev.org) and/or as a “[tc]” thread to the openstack-discuss@lists.openstack.org mailing-list. Upon verification, the chair will put the motion on the current proposals tracker.

We use Gerrit to record votes, so before being formally voted on or approved, motions will have to be presented as a change in the openstack/governance git repository. You can find instructions on how to do that in the Developer’s guide section of the Infra manual. Please contact the TC chair in case you need help. Note that a number of simpler changes do not require formal voting by the majority of the Technical Committee membership. Those exceptions are listed in the House rules for governance changes approval document.