OpenStack Technical Committee

The OpenStack Technical Committee is one of the governing bodies of the OpenStack project. It is an elected group that represents the contributors to the open source project, and has oversight on all technical matters.

The Technical Committee is formally defined in the OpenStack Foundation bylaws (in particular article 4.1(b), article 4.13 and Appendix 4) and further refined in the OpenStack Technical Committee Charter.

Work under the Technical Committee is organized under official OpenStack Project Teams (responsible for the production of the software up to release), Popup teams (formed around a limited cross-project objective) and Working groups (delegations from the TC to fill specific functions like election organization).

These pages contain OpenStack Technical Committee reference documents and track official resolutions voted by the committee.

Current Members

Full Name



Term Expires


Alexandra Settle


March 2020

Ghanshyam Mann


September 2020

Graham Hayes


March 2020

Jay Bryant


September 2020

Jean-Philippe Evrard


September 2020


Jim Rollenhagen


March 2020

Kevin Carter


September 2020

Kendall Nelson


September 2020

Mohammed Naser


March 2020

Nate Johnston


September 2020

Rico Lin


March 2020


Thierry Carrez


March 2020

Zane Bitter


March 2020

Reference documents and Resolutions

Office hours

Beyond discussing on the mailing-list and participating in ad-hoc IRC meetings, TC members will hold office hours (for one hour) on the #openstack-tc IRC channel at the following times every week:

You can contact TC members at any time, but there will be an effort to be present at those specific hours. So don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any question!

How to propose governance changes

Motions should be posted for discussion as a proposed change to the openstack/governance repository (on and/or as a “[tc]” thread to the mailing-list. Upon verification, the chair will put the motion on the current proposals tracker.

We use Gerrit to record votes, so before being formally voted on or approved, motions will have to be presented as a change in the openstack/governance git repository. You can find instructions on how to do that in the Developer’s guide section of the Infra manual. Please contact the TC chair in case you need help. Note that a number of simpler changes do not require formal voting by the majority of the Technical Committee membership. Those exceptions are listed in the House rules for governance changes approval document.